Underwords Press

Publishing Tomorrow's Fiction Today

Monthly Archives: January 2014

Nominating Books for the Andre Norton Award and the Nebula Award

Futuredaze: An Anthology of YA Science Fiction Released: February 2013 Edited by Hannah Strom-Martin & Erin Underwood

Futuredaze: An Anthology of YA Science Fiction
Released: February 2013
Edited by Hannah Strom-Martin & Erin Underwood

With the end of 2013, the fiction award season is upon us as people scramble to submit nominations for their favorite books and stories of the year. For those of you who are eligible to submit nominations for an award and you are thinking of nominating Futuredaze: An Anthology of YA Science Ficiton, here is the information for the Andre Norton Award for Outstanding Young Adult Science Fiction or Fantasy Book as well as the Nebula Awards.

If you have other books and short stories that you’d also like to nominate, we encourage you to nominate those as well since more diversity in awards is something that Underwords likes to encourage.

If you’re wondering how to submit a nomination and what requirement a work has to meet to be eligible, here’s some information from the SFWA Website:

2013 Nebula Awards Nominations

nebulaawardlogoThis is the area to nominate works for the Nebula Awards. Nominations may be submitted by Active, Lifetime Active, and Associate SFWA members in good standing. The nomination period opens November 15, 2013 and runs through February 15, 2014, 11:59pm PST.  The Nebula Award rules are available here.
How to Nominate
You will need to sign in to these forums to access the online ballot. The sign in link is located on the top right corner of this page. Your login and password can be found in the email reminder recently sent to you. If you have trouble signing in please contact office@sfwa.org for assistance.

And here is the specific section pertaining to the Andrew Norton Awards:

The Andre Norton Award for Outstanding Young Adult Science Fiction or Fantasy Book

  1. The Andre Norton Award for Outstanding Young Adult Science Fiction or Fantasy Book, established in 2006, is awarded in tandem with the Nebula Awards. This award is not a Nebula, but shall follow all Nebula rules and procedures except as follows:
    1. Eligibility: The eligibility period shall be the calendar year. Any book in its first appearance in the English language published as a young adult science fiction or fantasy (or related genre) novel during that period shall be eligible, including graphic novels. Nothing shall preclude a work’s being eligible for both a Nebula Award and an Andre Norton Award. There shall be no word limit. Any questions of eligibility shall be decided:
      1. By the Andre Norton Award Jury, in consultation if possible with the author, for purposes of determining whether or not a work is a young adult novel, or
      2. By the Nebula Awards Commissioner, in consultation with the SARC and subject to an appeal to that committee, for purposes of determining other aspects of eligibility according to the rules.
      3. In the event of a disagreement over jurisdiction, the SARC shall determine whether the eligibility question at issue falls under the jurisdiction of the Jury, the Nebula Awards Commissioner, or the SARC.
  2. Andre Norton Award Jury: In consultation with the Nebula Awards Commissioner, the President shall appoint an Andre Norton Award Jury. The jury shall consist of at least three (3) and not more than seven (7) members, to consider works published during the calendar year for possible inclusion on the Final Ballot. The jury may add up to three (3) works to the Final Ballot. The jury may not add a work written by a member of the jury or a spouse or domestic partner of a member of the jury to the FINAL BALLOT.
  3. Nominations: Nominations may be made by any Active or Associate members of SFWA in good standing, and shall be tallied in accordance with the Nebula Awards® rules for novels. Nominations shall be tracked by the Nebula Awards Commissioner and included as a separate category on the FINAL BALLOT.
  4. FINAL BALLOT: The top six (6) works nominated shall reach the FINAL BALLOT, according to the procedures established for novels. The FINAL BALLOT shall be appended to the Nebula Awards Final Ballot, voted upon by the Active members and counted in accordance with the Nebula rules.
  5. Winner: The winner shall be the work which receives the most votes during the FINAL BALLOT. Ties shall be handled in the manner established for novels.

8 Futuredaze Make the Tangent Online 2013 Recommended Reading List

We just found out that eight stories from Futuredaze: An Anthology of YA Science Fiction made the Tangent Online 2013 Recommended Reading List. Special congratulations to the authors who made the list as well as thanks to Tangent Online for their terrific review.

Futuredaze stories included on Tangent Online’s 2013 Recommended Reading List (in alpha order):


  • “A Voice in the Night” by Jack McDevitt
  • “Another Prison” by Rahul Kanakia
  • “Driven Out” by Steve Alguire
  • “Me and My Army of Me” by Katrina Nicholson
  • “Not With You, But With You” by Miri Kim
  • “Out of the Silent Sea” by Dale Lucas
  • “The Cleansing” by Mark Smith-Briggs
  • “The Myriad Dangers” by Lavie Tidhar

Announcing Futuredaze 2: Reprise

Underwords Press is pleased to announce that we will be publishing Futuredaze 2: Reprise, a reprint anthology of young adult science fiction written by 15 of today’s top authors, co-edited by Erin Underwood and New York Times bestselling YA fiction writer Nancy HolderFuturedaze 2: Reprise is scheduled for publication in mid 2014.

Underwords Press is a small press that specifically focuses on science fiction for young adults as well as unique science fiction publications. Futuredaze: An Anthology of YA Science Fiction, the original book in the series, was conceived to “challenge the imagination with young adult fiction that includes far-flung futures, dystopian alternate worlds, life among the stars, and a host of startling stories that embrace the idea of ‘What if?’ that has driven the science fiction genre forward for more then a century.” We continue this mission with Futuredaze 2: Reprise.

More publication information and a cover reveal will be coming soon. In the meantime, here is the list of contributing authors (listed in alphabetical order):

  • Paolo Bacigalupi
  • Libba Bray
  • Cassandra Clare
  • Neil Gaiman
  • Kat Howard
  • Hugh Howey
  • N. K. Jemisin
  • James Patrick Kelly
  • Ken Liu
  • Malinda Lo
  • Beth Revis
  • Will Shetterly
  • Scott Westerfeld
  • Connie Willis
  • Jane Yolen

Please direct questions, interview requests, and book review requests to Erin Underwood.

Futuredaze-cover-hi-resPraise for Futuredaze: An Anthology of YA Science Fiction:

  • “Fun for fans familiar with adult sf, and an enticing gateway for those new to the genre.” –Booklist, Lynn Rutan
  • “Futuredaze is a fantastic choice for YA (and older) readers who enjoy science fiction and fantasy.” -–ForeWords Reviews, Leia Menlove
  • “[Futuredaze] is a great anthology, offering some of the strongest YA fiction I’ve seen in years. There’s something for everyone here, and not just young adults, but the not-so-young adults too.” Tangent Online, Barbara Melville
Skip to toolbar